It appears rapper Hus Kingpin is actively striving to claim the title of “hardest working man in Hip Hop”. The Hempstead, New York native has released half a dozen projects since the beginning on 2013 including The Cognac Tape co-starring Roc Marciano and Hus Kingpin Meets Pro Era with P.E.’s Chuck Strangers.

Kingpin’s march to claim his crown continues with the new mixtape Cognac Spaceship which features Guilty Simpson, Smoovth, Rozewood, and Sean Rosati. Like the emcee’s apparent spirit of choice, the 10-track effort is smooth, dark, and when responsibly consumed, enjoyably mind altering.

DZI: The Voice reached out to Hus to speak about his new mixtape. The Winners crew member shared some details about Cognac Spaceship and more.

YK: Guilty Simpson is featured on the song “Time Is Runnin’ Out”. How did you first connect with Simpson?

HK: My boy M.W.P. out in Denmark set that one up. He’s a dope producer on the come up. His project is coming out soon, so he asked me to jump on the joint with Guilty. Shout out to Guilty. 


YK: You only had two other songs with guest features, and your crew member Rozewood appeared on both of those tracks. Was is it a conscious effort to handle most of the songs by yourself?

HK: Not particularly, I want everyone to succumb to the Kingpin experience, most of the time that experience involves my crew “The Winners”.

YK: You worked with a lot of different producers for the mixtape. Did you record more than the ten tracks that ended up the project?

HK: I have a ton a joints in the crayon box, but I needed this one to sound like space on earth. 

YK:  You’ve done projects with Roc Marciano and Pro Era’s Chuck Strangers. Are there any other artists or producers you would like to work with on a full project?

HK: I want to work with DJ Premier, Alchemist, & 9th Wonder. 

YK: You have a previous project called “The Cognac Tape” and this one is called “Cognac Spaceship”.  Any plans for another installment in the “Cognac Series”?

HK: I’m doing The Cognac Tape 2 soon.


To download Hus Kingpin’s Cognac Spaceship click it

To connect with Hus follow him on Twitter @HusKingpin and Instagram @huskingpin 

Check out the full tracklist for Cognac Spaceship:

1. Villain (Prod. Astro Baker)
2. Dearly (Prod. Drumatic)
3. Supreme (Rawland Remix) (Prod. Rawland)
4. Stone Valves (Prod. Vans Cal)
5. Time Is Runnin Out Feat. Guilty Simpson (Prod. M.W.P.)
6. Let It Be (Prod. Chief)
7. Warrior Cry (The Winners Remix) Feat. Rozewood, Sean Rosati, Smoovth (Prod. Doktor Rheal)
8. Infinite Blackhole (Prod. Vans Cal)
9. Tokyo Dreamin’ Feat. Rozewood) (Prod. Manu Beats)
10. For You (Outro) (Prod. Doktor Rheal)

You May Also Like

New Mixtape: King Author & Goose’s “Prospectus”

New Mixtape: iLLYA’s “Nothing Was The Same [since the] Hall of Fame”